My aunt’s beetroot salad

So, on Tuesday I made a really tasty and fresh salad with beetroots. It is a very traditional dish in Greece and I first ate it in a Christmas family dinner many years ago. My aunt Aspa made it and since then it occupies a space in our Christmas table. Even last Christmas (I didn’t give you my heart, don’t get excited!) that my mum and I were in Spain, we still got to eat it! We were invited in a Spanish family dinner and I thought of making it, so that we didn’t go empty-handed. And I made it and put as much garlic as I would if I was in Greece (we love garlic!), and my mum told me “Don’t put so much, they are not going to eat it!”, but I put! And they ate it!

That’s why I have it in my mind as a Christmas dish. But it’s not! You can make it whenever you want! You only need beetroots, walnuts, Greek yogurt, garlic, vinegar, olive oil and salt. And out of pure coincidence, I had all the ingredients in my fridge apart from the walnuts. So, I hurried myself to buy walnuts and grabbed the opportunity to make this amazing salad.

You will need (for 4 people more or less, depending on how much each person eats):

  • 4 boiled beetroots
  • 200-250g of Greek yogurt (depending on how big the 4 beetroots are)
  • 2 cloves of garlic (or more depending on how much you like garlic/on how much you want to smell afterwards/on how many vampires you want to scare)
  • 3 tbs of olive oil
  • 2 tbs of vinegar
  • 4 tbs of smashed walnuts (keep some unsmashed for decoration in the end)
  • salt

First, you put the yogurt, the olive oil and the vinegar in a bowl and you mix. Then, you pulp the garlic, but remember to remove the green germ, as some people find it difficult to digest or gives them gases. Afterwards, you chop the boiled beetroots in small cubes and add them in the bowl. Then, you add the smashed walnuts and some salt (you need to taste it to see how much it needs) and you mix. Finally, decorate it with some walnuts on top and hopefully it will look like this (and maybe it will taste better, who knows?):

You should leave it rest a bit in the fridge so that they meld and take on the flavor of the garlic.

Let me know how much you liked it, ’cause I’m sure you will!

One thought on “My aunt’s beetroot salad

Leave a Reply

